top of page

Trinity Guildhall


TG (2).jpg

Trinity College London is an international exam board that has been providing assessments since 1877. With a rich heritage of academic rigour and a positive, supportive approach to assessment, we provide recognised and respected qualifications in a unique spectrum of communicative skills — from music, drama and arts activities to English language — at all levels. Each year over 600,000 candidates in over 60 countries take a Trinity assessment and our international network is growing fast.


Trinity exams and assessments are designed to help students progress. They inspire learners and mark their achievement at each stage of their development and at all levels of competence. Our exams focus on assessing skills and how effectively the candidates can apply what they have learnt, not just on knowledge for its own sake. We also encourage candidates to bring their own choices and interests into our exams — this motivates students and makes the assessment more relevant and enjoyable.

Trinity exams are internationally recognised and fully accredited by Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) and other education authorities in many countries around the world.


All Trinity Grade exams in Drama subjects for individuals and pairs are accredited in England, Wales and Northern Ireland by Ofqual, WAG and CCEA respectively and also have recognition in a number of other countries.


Exams are categorised at three attainment levels which are benchmarked as follows to the Levels of the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) in England, Wales and Northern Ireland:


Foundation (Grades 1–3) — Level 1

Intermediate (Grades 4–5) — Level 2

Advanced (Grades 6–8) — Level 3


Grades 1–3 typically relate to work at a standard comparable to that done in the UK in primary schools and the initial years of secondary schools, depending on the learner.


Grades 4–5 typically relate to work at a standard comparable to that done in the UK in secondary schools by students aged approximately 12–15 in preparation for relevant GCSE exams.


In the UK, solo and pair Grade exams accredited at Level 3 of the QCF carry points for university entry on the UCAS tariff system. While there are no minimum age limits imposed for entry at any grade, teachers should ensure that potential candidates have achieved an appropriate level of physical, vocal, emotional and intellectual maturity to meet the published learning outcomes and assessment criteria for the relevant attainment band prior to registration for exam.


While candidates may enter at any grade they choose, the syllabus is designed to provide a structured framework for progressive development of skills over time

bottom of page